Card for 2009

January 4, 2009 § 1 Comment

Spread: one card (plus Zodiac Spread, see next entry)
Deck: Magical Forest
Date: Thursday, January 1, 2009, 10:10pm

I pulled a Tarot card for 2009, which was the 8 of Wands/Staves.  An excerpt from my favorite Tarot website:

Before acting, we think, imagine, speculate, talk and dream. This is the realm of air – the sky. Then, finally, we decide to make our move. We bring our ideas down to earth and put them into action.

In readings, the Eight of Wands is often a sign that now is the time to declare yourself. All the elements are ready and will work for you as long as you don’t hesitate. The iron is hot – so strike! If events are in motion, they will proceed rapidly. You may feel caught in a whirlwind, but soon the dust will settle, and you see how your plans have fared.

I found this quite suitable, as I’ve been planning to go to China to teach English for a few years, and now suddenly it’s only a month away.

Actually, I initially interpreted this card quite differently.  This card is a beautiful golden landscape in the background, with a small patch of trees, rolling hills, and distant castle, but in the foreground are 8 staves or wands, striking from the top left to bottom right of the card.  I interpreted this to mean that there would be lots of obstacles in the near future, but they lead to some wonderful things in the more distant future.  There’s also a lot of drive or fire behind my actions for this year.

This is not the first time I interpret a card totally differently from its typical meaning, but I find I’m not really bothered by it.  I don’t think there’s only one right answer to most things, not only because of different perspectives, but also because life is a little more complex than one cut and dry answer.  This is one of my favorite things about Tarot cards: so many possibilities in every card!

(I also wrote about this reading on my main blog, though not in as much detail.)

Tagged:

§ One Response to Card for 2009

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Card for 2009 at The Counsel of Cards.

meta

